Frequently Asked Questions
Why don't you teach the ServSafe® Certification class in one day with 8 hour home study instead of two days in classroom?
Maryland health departments that require Food Manager Certification to obtain your Food Handler's permit, initially ask for 15-16 hours in-class training. We comply with Maryland laws and our experience confirms that initial classes in a one day format are very long and stressful to the average student. Our Mission is to always: Give students an enjoyable experience; keep it simple, serious and memorable so lessons learned will be applied immediately and successfully in real-world scenarios.
You don't have a Food Service Manager ServSafe® Recertification class date that is convenient for me?
We have found that with BHTS instructors' training styles and methods, a student can attend the second day and fulfill the required training hours and take the exam. Cost will be adjusted to $150.00 per student.
You don't have a Food Service Manager ServSafe® class near my location or on a convenient date?
Please call us anyway, many times, BHTS is teaching an unadvertised private class that might be convenient for you, and we might be able to add you to that class.
Do you offer any discounts?
Yes, BHTS does offer $20.00 discounts to customers of the participating vendors. Also, if you register three or more participants for the same class you will receive a 10% discount. Please visit our Discounts page for more details and other offers.
Do I have to buy/keep the ServSafe text book?
No, you do not have to purchase the ServSafe® text book. When you enroll online, you may click the option “Borrow Book” & save an additional $20.00. Our Individual Enrollment pricing is always ALL-INCLUSIVE whether you decide to keep the text book or to borrow the text book. Our ALL-INCLUSIVE PRICING includes, BHTS study guide, classroom training, exam sheet and mailing of certificate. We believe that the training does not end in the classroom. That is why we provide the latest materials for you to keep on site as a reference as needed. The price of the student enrollment includes all materials in class. If you already have the latest ServSafe® materials, i.e., a book and exam sheet, we are happy to save you money. BHTS can subtract $75.00 off of the price of enrollment on Food Service Manger Certification classes. Should you only have the book and not the exam sheet, we can subtract $30.00 off of the enrollment fee.
Can I host a ServSafe® course at my establishment?
Yes, please call BHTS Bilingual Hospitality Training Solutions for further details on how to get discounted or free training for your staff as a “Thank You” for hosting.
Can I book a private class so the teacher comes to our location?
Yes, please contact Juliet Bodinetz-Rich for convenient , cost-saving alcohol training, Safe Staff (food safety), Food Service Manager Certification or Recertification classes, or Stellar Service private classes in English or Spanish for availability and pricing.
How can I pay for the course?
If you register online, you can pay with Visa, MasterCard, Diners or American Express. Or you may mail a check to BHTS at P.O. Box 21121, Catonsville, MD 21228. On a case per case basis, we also allow corporate checks or cash to be given on the day of class.
Will I get a receipt for payment?
Yes, it will be emailed to you and/or will be provided in the classroom as necessary.
What happens if I need to reschedule?
Prepaid registrations are transferable for 120 days from the original class date. If you cannot attend a class, please contact BHTS 48 hours prior to the class. Individuals who miss a class without prior notification will not be issued a refund.
What do I need to bring to class?
Yourself and your ID. We are required to check your ID in the classroom. It is advisable to bring a pen/highlighter to take notes, as a lot of information is covered over the course of the training. We provide all other ServSafe® Food materials.
What is a passing score?
A passing score is an overall score of 60 or higher. A score of 60 or higher is obtained by answering 60 or more of 80 questions correctly. This is a 75% score.
When can I check my score online?
Within 15 business days of your examination date. Obtain your score by logging in http://www.servsafe.com/irc/classes/classSearch.aspx . Please note, if you provide your email address on your exam sheet, your grades will be automatically sent to you by NRAEF.
Once I pass the exam, how do I get my health department permit?
In most cases, you have to bring your ORIGINAL ServSafe® Certificate to your County Health Department along with a photo ID. A processing fee must be submitted with each application. Costs vary per county. See link below for your specific county's information. https://www.servsafe.com/RegRequirements/default.aspx
What do I do if my name is spelled incorrectly on my certificate?
If your name is spelled incorrectly and you bubbled your name correctly on your answer sheet, it will be replaced at no cost. If your name is spelled wrong due to any error on your answer sheet you will be responsible for getting it replaced. To get a new certificate you need to fill out the Certificate Replacement Form and sent it to the address on the form. The fee for this is $20.00 plus shipping fees.
How long is the certification good for in Maryland, Washington DC and Virginia?
Three years in Maryland and Washington DC. Five years in Virginia.
But my certificate says it is good for five years!
Although some jurisdictions in the US accept the certification for five years, the required Maryland counties and Washington DC only accept it for three years.
If I need to recertify can I just attend the second day of a two day class?
Yes, you may attend the second day of a two day class. The material covered on the second day will count as a great review and comply with required hours in classroom to fulfill your Food Service Manager Re-Certification compliance requirements.
How long after my certification expires can I still take the recertification course?
You have up to 90 days after the three year expiration date to get it renewed. We recommend that you take the 2-day class if your certification has been expired for longer than 90 days.
What happens if I fail the test?
You will need to retest. Please call BHTS to schedule an appointment. The fee to retake the written exam is $75.
Will my certificate be mailed to my home or work address?
The certificate will be mailed to the address provided upon registration. BHTS sends your certificate via certified confirmation, but should you require signature confirmation, please add a $14.99 fee to the cost of tuition. BHTS is NOT responsible for certificates mailed to a "wrong" address. The cost of a replacement certificate is $20 plus shipping fees. You will need to download and complete a certificate request form from NRAEF.
I've lost my certificate. Can you mail me another one?
No. You must download and complete a certificate request form. There is a $20 replacement fee from the National Restaurant Association for lost certificates. If you need to order a duplicate certificate, the cost is $20, and you must submit a Certificate Request Form
If my ServSafe® certificate gets lost in the mail, will BHTS pay for the replacement?
BHTS is not responsible for "lost" mail. We are able to track mail only to confirm the certificate has been delivered. For signature confirmation of delivery, the student has to pay for USPS Certified Mail delivery. On the very rare occasion that the certificate does get lost in the mail, the student is responsible for paying for a replacement certificate.